Berlin Philharmonic Woodwind Quintet and Stephen Hough, piano

Tuesday, February 6, 2018, 7:30 pm
Tickets:  $40/$10 for 30 years or younger

Recognized for redefining the sound of the classical wind quintet, this ensemble from one of the world’s great orchestras made a well-received debut on our series in 2011. Famed British pianist and composer, Stephen Hough, will join the ensemble for its return, presenting four rarely heard works, including a 2009 trio by Mr. Hough.

"It’s difficult for a small ensemble to step out meaningfully from the shadows of one of the world’s most-respected orchestras, but the Philharmonic’s quintet accomplishes that stunningly through solid playing and creative programs."  Ray Mark Rinaldi, The Denver Post, (Friday, January 4, 2018)

Click here to view complete concert program.


  • Stephen Hough: Trio for piccolo, contrabassoon, and piano, "Was mit den Tränen geschieht"
  • W.A. Mozart: Quintet in E-flat major for Winds and Piano, K. 452
  • Francis Poulenc: Sextet for wind quintet and piano in C major, FP 100
  • Paul Hindemith: Kleine Kammermusik, Op. 24, no. 2

Thanks to Our Sponsors